Glossary for code.etalab.gouv.fr

What is a repository? An organization? A license?

Source Code


A software's source code is what a developer writes. Source code can be just a few lines or quite a few of them. Source code can be made available under a free licence for others to freely distribute, modify and share.


Public Sector


Source code developed by a public agency must be published, under certain conditions. This website offers the possibility to search within source code repositories that are identified as coming from public sector organisms. It has been developed by Etalab.


Repository


A "repository" is a place where source code files are stored. This is what you see when you browse a link to a source code as hosted on a software forge. This is also what you copy on your machine to explore it locally.


Organisation & Group


GitHub allows to have personal accounts or "organizations accounts" to store source code. A "group" is the more or less equivalent notion used on GitLab instances. A public sector organization may have one or more organization accounts and/or groups on one or several software forges.


Fork


A "forked" repository est is repository derived from another one.


Stars


Stars allow users to mark a repository as favourite. At the moment, we collect repository favouriteness data from GitHub, Gitlab and instances thereof. Favouriteness is not a source code quality metric.


Licence


A software licence is a contract between a software's authors and its end-users. So-called "libre" licences grant licensees permission to distribute, modify and share a software's source code.


Software Heritage


Software Heritage is a project whose ambition is to collect, preserve, and share all software that is publicly available in source code form. Each repository here referenced is linked to its corresponding Software Heritage archive version.

Glossaire pour code.etalab.gouv.fr

Qu'est-ce qu'un dépôt ? Une « organisation » ? Une licence ?

Codes sources


Le code source d'un programme informatique est ce qu'écrit une programmeuse ou un programmeur. Il peut s'agir de programmes complexes ou de quelques lignes. Ce code source peut être partagé sous licence libre pour permettre aux autres programmeurs de l'étudier, de le modifier, de le diffuser et de partager leurs améliorations.


Secteur public


Les codes sources développés dans le cadre de missions de service public ont vocation à être publiés, dans certains conditions. Ce site propose de chercher dans l'ensemble des codes sources aujourd'hui identifiés comme provenant d'un organisme remplissant une mission de service public. Il a été développé par la mission Etalab.


Dépôt


Un « dépôt » est un espace dans lequel sont publiés les fichiers de code source. C'est ce que vous voyez lorsque vous visitez un lien vers un code source hébergé sur une forge. C'est aussi ce que vous pouvez copier sur votre machine pour l'explorer localement.


Organisation et groupe


GitHub permet d'avoir des comptes personnels pour y héberger du code et des « comptes d'organisation ». Un « groupe » est la notion plus ou moins équivalent sur les instance de GitLab. Un organisme remplissant une mission de service public peut avoir un ou plusieurs organisations et/ou groupes sur une ou plusieurs forges.


Fourche


Un dépôt « fourché » (ou « forké » en franglais) est un dépôt de code source qui a été développé à partir d'un autre.


Étoiles


Les « étoiles » (« stars » en anglais) sont un moyen pour les utilisateurs des plates-formes de mettre un dépôt en favori. Pour l'instant, nous collectons cette information sur GitHub, GitLab et les instances de GitLab. Ce n'est pas une mesure de la qualité du code source.


Licence


Une licence logicielle est un contrat passé entre les auteurs d'un logiciel et ses réutilisateurs. Les licences dites « libres » accordent aux utilisateurs le droit de réutiliser le code source d'un logiciel.


Software heritage


Software Heritage est un projet dont le but est d'archiver tous les codes sources disponibles. Pour chaque dépôt référencé sur ce site, nous donnons le lien vers la version archivée sur Software Heritage.